Hello again fantasy world, its been a while since I posted my tier 1 rankings but as promised I have completed my tier 2 rankings.  My first 5 rankings were the cream of the crop and are all likely gone by the early 3rd round.  Now to get into those QB’s who can be taken between rounds 4 and 6 who are capable also of being your starter and lead you to the playoffs.  Here are the next 5 QB’s who are all starting caliber fantasy players (based on a 10 team league).   (All points based on ESPN standard scoring)

6.  Eli Manning:  I guess it was always just a matter of time before Eli surpassed his brother in fantasy ranks and this is the year.  Last year Manning threw for 4,933 yards and 29 touchdowns making 2011 the 3rd straight year he has eclipsed 4,000 yards passing.  He has elite talent to throw to with Nicks and Cruz and has a back capable of keeping defenses honest in Bradshaw.  I like Manning to pick off where he left off and post good numbers.

7.  Tony Romo:  In the 3 seasons Romo has played all 16 games he has averaged 4,292 yards and 31 touchdowns.  His durability is an issue but he has enough weapons around him that he is worth the risk.  With Bryant poised to have a breakout year and targets in Austin and Witten I feel Romo will post big time numbers.  This is also the year he has a game changing back that will help open up things passing.  Romo is a gem as he is mostly going in the 5th round of fantasy drafts.

8.  Phillip Rivers:  Rivers was a disappointment last season as he had 20 interceptions and put the ball on the ground 9 times.  Half of the games he played in he had multiple picks and had only 3 games with 20 or more fantasy points.  That being said I still feel Rivers is one of the safest fantasy QB’s in the league and is very capable of leading your roster to the playoffs.  Rivers over the past 4 seasons has averaged 4,400 yards and 30 touchdowns and don’t forget that he still had a great season last year throwing over 4,600 yards and 27 touchdowns good enough for a 9th place finish in fantasy.  I like Rivers to bounce back with a great campaign in 2012 and considering he is being picked in the 5th and 6th rounds has great value.

9.  Peyton Manning:  There has not been this level of uncertainty around Manning since his rookie year.  Critics will say that he has too much risk, is too old, one good hit will finish him, blah blah blah.  We are talking about arguably the best QB to ever lace up his cleats and a QB who according to his receivers has plenty zip still on the ball.  in 11 of Manning’s 13 seasons he has thrown for 4,000 plus yards and has NEVER thrown for less than 26 touchdowns.  If Manning is healthy and all signs are looking that way he will again perform great.

10.  Michael Vick:  I can almost guarantee that Vick will not be on my fantasy roster this season because there is almost no chance he will be the 10th QB off the board.  He has great potential to post huge numbers but is almost a lock to miss time due to injury.  Because of his injury issues you are going to  have to spend an earlier pick than most to find a quality QB2 like Roethlisberger, Ryan or Cutler.  I feel that to spend a 4th round pick on a player who is almost certain to miss time is not worth it.  So like I said he wont be on my roster.

 

So there you have it my tier 2 rankings.  I can already tell that many will disagree, and if you do please comment or hit me up on twitter.

